The Night Before Christmas

It’s the night before Christmas and where am I now?

Sitting on the floor at my parents’ house,

Writing my blog post, which I need to finish,

Or risking facing some stupid punishment.

You see the problem I have is I’m drawing a blank,

I don’t know what to write, my post is going to tank.

It’s the night before Christmas, but I really don’t want to write,

About giving or holidays, that would just be trite.

I can’t write about crochet, work, or my runs,

I’ve written about all of those and I think I’m done.

I still need a topic, so I’ll just write,

About what I’m up to on this holiday night.

We’ve been watching movies, some old, some new.

And I’ve been crocheting a shawl the whole way through.

I left briefly when my yarn ran out and lost my seat,

To the cat, who is now fast asleep.

So I’m sitting on the floor, trying to rhyme.

I want my stupid blog post to publish in time.

Next time I agree to writing biweekly pieces,

I need to double check holidays, at the very least.

I had to write on Thanksgiving and now tonight,

And writing on holidays kind of bites.

 

So here’s my frickin’ blog post, I’m finally done.

Merry Christmas, you dork. Love you a ton.
-EMS

Leave a Reply

